Friday, January 11, 2013
How To Cure Celiac Disease
Now 10 months later, my daughter can eat a piece of wheat toast with no side effects. She isn't completely free from the disease or yeast problem, but she is well on her way.
I encourage you to read the whole article.
Thursday, June 21, 2012
An update on the NEW diet change
That's when I changed Rachel's diet from a strict gluten free to a still gluten free, but with no white sugar, less white flour/starches, and more wholesome natural foods. It's been almost two months since we began this diet.
Want to know what has happened?
Will you believe me what I'm about to tell you?
Let me just say these few things: Rachel (our daughter with Celiac for 3.5 years now) has had more energy than she has ever had before and she is happier. Her sweet, energetic personality has just shone with her exuberance. What a difference from before!
Today she ate not one, but two granola bars (homemade) with regular oats. Yes, the regular, full of cross contaminants, oats. What happened? Usually she would be doubled over in pain, on the couch, crying in pain within 20 minutes or less. Then she would move to the bathroom and you can guess what we (a mother and a sick child) would experience in there.
None of that happened. She played on throughout the day as if she had eaten nothing "wrong" and was still her cheerful, wonderful self as we now have come to know her.
Amazing. Unbelievable. Yet very believable.
I am writing this to give you hope. I am writing this post to give you inspiration to look at what things you or your child are eating. Please read this article with an open mind and give it a go.
It is worth it.
Wednesday, April 25, 2012
The Four Letter Word
If gluten-free is really the way to go for Celiac Disease then why doesn't my little girl feel and act healthy. Yes, she is much better than what she used to be before diagnosis, but it makes me wonder.
I use herbs and I enjoy using what God has given us on this green and blue earth. I strive to keep our family away from chemicals, processed foods, etc. So, I started searching on the Internet for herbs used to help Celiacs and their digestive troubles. I came across a website that completely intrigued me. This website was right up my alley! Not only do they promote herbs and such, but they had a whole article on how to treat all kinds of diseases. Uncurable diseases. Including Celiac Disease. A Cure? Really? I looked the article over and it all made sense and it was nothing out of the ordinary. The cure promoted a more healthy lifestyle- right where I wanted myself and my family to be. And I didn't have to pay anything- it was right there- the whole plan and diet change.
I am already starting to implement these changes to mine and my daughter's diet. I am trying to give it to God, keep a level head, but yet hopeful.
Here is the website link: www.healthwyze.org
Here is the Celiac Disease article: http://healthwyze.org/index.php/curing-celiac-disease.html
I hope you will become inspired and motivated to try it!
Friday, March 2, 2012
Living Without - Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Mocha Chocolate Cake - Recipes Article
Living Without - Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Mocha Chocolate Cake - Recipes Article
Wednesday, January 11, 2012
A "New" Flour Mix
As far as the said muffin recipe, I made it vegan by using homemade applesauce instead of the buttermilk. They were delicious! Next time though I'm going to cut down on the sugar-they were too sweet for us.
Tuesday, July 5, 2011
Traveling Gluten Free? With Kids?
Thursday, June 24, 2010
Tone’s/Durkee/Spice Islands
If you have questions about products NOT listed on the attached list, or can't open the attachment, please call the Spice Advice Line at
Consumer Affairs
ACH Food, Inc.
Tone’s/Durkee/Spice Islands
All Liquid Extracts
All Liquid Flavorings
All Food Coloring
Allspice
Alum
Anise Seed
Apple Pie Spice
Arrowroot
Baking Powder
Baking Soda
Basil
Bay Leaves
Buttermilk Ranch Dressing
Caraway Seed
Cardamom
Celery Flakes
Celery Seed
Chicken & Rib Rub
Chicken Seasoning
Chili Powder
Chives
Cilantro
Cinnamon
Cloves
Coriander
Cream of Tartar
Cumin
Curry Powder
Dill Seed/Weed
Fennel
Garlic Pepper
Garlic Powder
Garlic Minced
Garlic Salt
Ginger
Hickory Smoke Salt
Italian Seasoning
Jamaican Jerk Seasoning
Lemon & Herb
Lemon Garlic Seas.
Lemon Pepper
Lime Pepper
Seasoned Pepper
Mace
Marjoram
Meat Tenderizer
Mint Leaves
MSG
Mustard
Nutmeg
Onion, Minced
Onion Powder
Onion Salt
Orange Peel
Oregano
Oriental 5-Spice
Paprika
Parsley
Pepper, Black/White – all
Pepper, Green Bell
Cayenne Pepper
Crushed Red Pepper
Pickling Spice
Poppy Seed
Poultry Seasoning
Pumpkin Pie Spice
Rosemary
Sage
Sesame Seed
Six Pepper Blend
Smokey Mesquite Seas.
Steak Seasoning
Tarragon
Thyme
Turmeric
Salt Free Garden Seas.
Salt Free Lemon Pepper
Salt Free Original All-Purpose Seasoning
Salt Free Garlic & Herb
Salt Free Veg. Seasoning
Crazy Dave’s Lemon Pepper
Crazy Dave’s Pepper & Spice
Crazy Dave’s Salt & Spice
Mr. Pepper
Pizza Seasoning
Spaghetti/Pasta Seasoning
Spicy Spaghetti Seasoning
Durkee California Style Blends
Garlic Powder
Garlic Salt
Onion Powder
Onion Salt
Spice Islands Specialty
Beau Monde
Chili Powder
Fines Herbs
Crystallized Ginger
Italian Herb Seasoning
Garlic Pepper Seasoning
Saffron
Old Hickory Smoked Salt
Summer Savory
Vanilla Bean
Spice Islands Salt-Free
All are gluten free
Spice Islands Grilling Gourmet & World Flavors
All are gluten free
ACH Food, Inc. Items which are also Gluten Free
All Karo Syrups
Golden Griddle, Old Tyme, Beehive, Crown, Lily White and Old Colony
All Mazola Oils and Sprays
Argo Corn Starch
Kingsford, Benson’s and Canada Corn Starch
All Fleischmann’s Yeasts
All Henri’s Salad Dressings
Friday, June 4, 2010
Thursday, February 4, 2010
Betty Crocker Gluten Free Website!
Tuesday, January 26, 2010
Bertolli Pasta Sauce (U.S.)
Saturday, January 9, 2010
Burger King
Thursday, December 24, 2009
Pepsi-Cola
Thank you for contacting us at Pepsi-Cola.
Here at Pepsi, we use only ingredients that are fully approved by the Food and Drug Administration and deemed safe-for-use in foods.
There is no gluten in any carbonated soft drink produced by Pepsi-Cola Company in North America. Please check out www.pepsiproductfacts.com for additional ingredient information on our other beverages.
I hope this information is helpful. Thanks again for your interest in our products.
Stephanie White
Consumer Relations Representative
012196229A
Monday, December 21, 2009
The Coca Cola Company
All 100% juice products (without added ingredients)
Aquarius Spring!
Barq's root beer
caffeine free Barq's root beer
diet Barq's root beer
diet Barq's Red Creme Soda
Caribou Iced Coffee (all flavors)
cherry Coke
Diet Cherry Coke
Cherry Coke zero
Coca-Cola
caffeine free Coca-Cola classic
Coca-Cola Zero
DASANI
DASANI Lemon
DASANI Plus Refresh and Revive
DASANI Plus Cleanse and Restore
DASANI Essence
Diet Coke
Diet Coke Plus
caffeine free Diet Coke
Diet Coke Sweetened with Splenda
Diet Coke with Lime
Enviga Sparkling Berry Green Tea
Enviga Sparkling Green Tea
Fanta Grape, Fanta Orange
Fanta Orange Zero
Fresca
FUZE (all flavors)
Gold Peak Lemon Iced Tea
Minute Maid Lemonade
Minute Maid Light Lemonade
Minute Maid Multi-Vitamin Orange Juice
Minute Maid Pomegranate Blueberry
Minute Maid Pomegranate Lemonade
Minute Maid Pomegranate Flavored Tea
Minute Maid Juice Bars (Orange, Cherry and Grape)
NESTEA Sweetened Lemon Tea
Diet NESTEA Lemon
NESTEA Red Tea
NESTEA Citrus Green Tea
Diet NESTEA Citrus Green Tea
NOS Energy Drinks
POWERADE Grape
POWERADE Mountain Blast
POWERADE Zero (all flavors)
POWERADE with ION4 (all flavors)
Rehab
Simply Orange Juice Medium Pulp with Calcium Country Stand
Simply Orange with Mango
Simply Orange with Pineapple
Simply Apple
Simply Grapefruit
Simply Lemonade
Simply Limeade
Simply Lemonade with Raspberry
Sprite
Diet Sprite Zero
vanilla Coke
Vanilla Coke Zero
VIO Vibrancy Drinks
We are able to confirm that, in Canada, the following products are gluten free:
Coca-Cola Classic
Coca-Cola Classic Caffeine Free
Coca-Cola with Lime
Coca-Cola Zero
Barq's Root Beer
caffeine free Barq's Root Beer
Barq's Diet Root Beer
Barq's Diet Red Creme Soda
Diet Coke
Diet Coke with Lime
Diet Coke Caffeine Free
Diet Coke Sweetened with Splenda
Sprite
Diet Sprite Zero
Fresca
DASANI Lemon
Minute Maid Light Lemonade
Simply Lemonade
Simply Limeade
POWERADE Berry Blitz
100% juice products (without added ingredients) are gluten free.
We can tell you that all of our other products meet the Codex definition of gluten free. Codex is in the process of reviewing this standard and we are monitoring the progress closely.
Should you require information on another product, please send us your question in an email.
For additional assistance, you may also contact our
Friday, December 18, 2009
Land O'Lakes Vanilla Ice Cream
LAND O LAKES Vanilla Ice Cream is gluten free; however we must state that there is always a chance of cross contaimination from ingredients that we get from outside suppliers.
We value your opinion and will make sure that the management team is aware of your comments.
Wendy Hiller
Consumer Response Representative
000633639A
Thursday, December 17, 2009
Land O' Lakes Products
Do LAND O LAKES® Products contain gluten?
Land O'Lakes, Inc. strives to provide complete and accurate ingredient information on its labels. For any specific product, we feel the best source of this information is the product ingredient listing on the package. To date, the FDA and USDA have not defined the term "gluten-free." To the best of our knowledge, the ingredients in our natural dairy products (e.g., natural cheese and butter) do not contain gluten.
Monday, December 14, 2009
McCormick Spices and Herbs
Wednesday, December 2, 2009
Campbell's
Caramel Coloring: Is it Gluten Free?
Here's the bottom-line answer (right on top): the experts say that yes, caramel coloring is gluten-free.
There is a lot of confusion about this issue, and this answer might contradict what you have heard or read in the past. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (F.D.A.), in its rules on color additives, says the color additive caramel can be derived from the following food-grade carbohydrates: dextrose, invert sugar, lactose, malt syrup, molasses, starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof, or sucrose. Barley malt -- which is the most common kind of malt -- would make a product off-limits to people with celiac disease.
BUT registered dietitian Shelley Case, who is on the medical advisory board of the Celiac Disease Foundation, the Gluten Intolerance Group, and the Canadian Celiac Association, told me that gluten-containing ingredients are no longer used to make caramel coloring in North America, and from my own correspondence with major manufacturers of caramel color that indeed seems to be the case. While gluten-containing ingredients can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies are now using glucose from corn, or sometimes sucrose (table sugar). In Europe, Shelley says, companies use glucose syrup that's derived from wheat starch, but the caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.
Therefore, Shelley says, "Caramel color is an acceptable ingredient on the gluten-free diet and does not need to be restricted."
Wednesday, October 7, 2009
Halloween Candy List for Gluten Free Diets
Click here for a "candy without gluten list" from About.com.
Tuesday, October 6, 2009
Catelli Pasta Sauce (Canada)
Thank you for visiting our website.
As per your inquiry, all of our Catelli Pasta Sauces distributed in Canada, with the exception of Catelli Meat Sauce, are all gluten free. Please note that we would be pleased to mail to your home address a copy of our HEINZ ALLERGENIC & SENSITIVE INGREDIENT DOCUMENT. We trust this document will assist you with your quest for allergen information. We kindly ask that you provide us with your complete mailing address. Upon receipt of this information we will promptly forward the document in question.
Sincerely,
Michelle Altmid
Consumer Services
Heinz Canada